addiction

I came across this article the other day, from 2010. One man facing up — sort of — to his T206 addiction. Nice little piece.

I do not have this affliction, thank goodness. I couldn’t afford it.

That being said, I have been acquiring a few select cards on ebay. I’m not addicted. I just like ’em. I think I would like just a sampling of cards of various years. Here’s one of my most recent additions.

flowers33

D’Arcy Flowers is not a name that jumps out at you in baseball history. Definitely better known as Jake Flowers, but even then… never heard of him. This is a  1933 Goudey card. I like the pose and the name. D’Arcy Flowers. Wonder if he got teased much in school. Perhaps his mother was a fan of Jane Austen?

austen 3 - 1933 Goudey

Well, who isn’t? She had some great seasons.

Jake Flowers had some pretty good seasons too. He played 11 years in the majors, with St. Louis, Brooklyn, and Cincinnati, and was in the ’26 and ’31 World Series with the Cardinals, beating the Yankees in ’26 and the Athletics in ’31. After his playing days were over (lifetime batting average: .256) he coached and managed with a few clubs and was the general manager of the Milwaukee Brewers in the American Association from 947-50. Jake passed away back in ’62, at age 60.

As I said, I love the look of these old 1933 Goudey cards. Particularly, for some reason, the ones with the yellow background. There’s a nice mix of player portraits and full length batting and fielding poses. The Goudey Gum company existed from 1919 to 1962, though Enos Goudey himself sold the company in 1932, and just worked thereafter as “a consultant.” Goudey was the first American company to issue baseball cards with each stick of gum, in 1933. The ’33 set has 244 total cards, and this is one of the “big ones” for the card collectors, along with the T206 cards and the 1952 Topps set. I suppose there are those addicted to the Goudey cards, just like the T206.

But as I said, I’m not addicted or anything. I just like them. It’s not that I have to have them. At the same time, I wouldn’t mind having a few. At the right price. For instance, that Jane Austen card, above, is one of the more difficult to find cards in the set. I wouldn’t mind having one of them. There were only 23 of them printed as a printer’s prank, and 18 of them have never been found. The Goudey 1933 Austen is widely thought to be worth as much as the T206 Wagner, in any sort of condition. But you never see them around, they never come up for sale, so no one really knows how much they’d actually go for. A 1933 Austen could be worth as much, say, as the Maltese Falcon. Perhaps.

falcon-a2-fr-mtpmcg1211-sm-3654

Leave a Reply

