Don’t nuke the Ueck!

not today, anway.

Because it’s Bob Uecker’s birthday today!

And it just so happens that I’m the proud owner of an authentic Bob Uecker 1963 baseball card! As I recall, I had to give up a ’55 Mays and a ’53 Mantle to get it. I felt like I was stealing it, practically. Bob UECKER!

bob uecker B

I never saw Mays or Mantle on the Tonight Show. Uecker was on all the time.

Bob grew up in Milwaukee and signed with the Braves in 1956.

I signed with the Milwaukee Braves for three-thousand dollars. That bothered my dad at the time because he didn’t have that kind of dough. But he eventually scraped it up.

He came up to the Braves in 1962, then played for the Cardinals and the Phillies before finishing his career with the Atlanta Braves in 1967. When his playing days were over, he had a very successful career in broadcasting. But baseball was always the most important thing to Bob.

The biggest thrill a ballplayer can have is when your son takes after you. That happened when my Bobby was in his championship Little League game. He really showed me something. Struck out three times. Made an error that lost the game. Parents were throwing things at our car and swearing at us as we drove off. Gosh, I was proud.

I won’t embarrass Bob by putting the back of his card up here, with all his minor league stats, all the records. I know he’s a modest guy, and wouldn’t want that. But I will mention that there is a bronze statue of Bob outside Miller park in Milwaukee. Also honored with statues at Miller Park: Hank Aaron, Robin Yount, and … Bud Selig. One thing about Milwaukee. They have a good sense of humor there. Bud Selig?

Happy Birthday Bob. Good game!

Bob Uecker 2011

Leave a Reply

